Author of New Pompeii DANIEL GODFREY
Home  Books   Links   Misc   Contact 

New Pompeii is available from the following links:

Amazon UK

Forbidden Planet

Waterstones

WHSmith

Foyles

Book Depository

Wordery

Amazon US

Barnes and Noble

Kobo Ebook

iTunes

“I loved it. A fascinating and original blend of history, sci-fi, intrigue and action. Completely riveting.” Robert Fabbri, bestselling author of the Vespasian novels


"A lean, clean, post-Crichton tale of conspiracy, time travel and ancient empire. Daniel Godfrey has come up with a flat-out entertaining read." Dave Hutchinson, author of Europe in Autumn & Europe in Winter (Winner of the BSFA Award for Best Novel, 2016)


“A smart, intriguing thriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton and Phillip K. Dick.” – Gareth L. Powell (Winner of the BSFA Award for Best Novel, 2013).


“New Pompeii is that rare science fiction novel that reads like a thriller – fast-paced and intricate, seasoned with the authentic flavours of ancient Rome.” – Alan Smale, Sidewise Award Winner and author of Clash of Eagles


“Fascinating, cleverly wrought, intelligent and occasionally brutal, New Pompeii is a thrillingly original take on the time travel genre.' – Tim Lebbon, author of The Silence and The Hunt


“A first class debut. I couldn’t put it down!” – Adam Christopher, author of Empire State


“An exuberant, high-concept thriller that brings ancient Rome crashing into the present day.  Smart, inventive and action-packed.” – Tom Harper, author of The Orpheus Descent and The Lost Temple


“A cleverly woven tale of ancient Romans, time travel, and ageless power struggles, which builds to a stirring conclusion.” – Janet Edwards, author of Earth Flight


“Daniel Godfrey’s time travel thriller grips from beginning to end. With a clever plot, twisting turns, and dialogue that crackles, New Pompeii rivals Michael Crichton at his best.” Clifford Beal, author of The Guns of Ivrea


“Just inhaled New Pompeii by Daniel Godfrey. Gone. Brilliant. Like timey-wimey Lemon Sherbet” - Natasha Pulley, author of The Watchmaker of Filigree Street


Reviews (All External Links)

“New Pompeii’s vertiginously high-concept idea is bolstered by strong characterisation and excellently knotty plotting that balances temporal paradoxes and moral conundrums with the science-run-amok thrills of Westworld and Jurassic Park.” - The Financial Times (24/06/16)


“Godfrey’s intricately plotted, tremendously gripping time-travel thriller evokes Michael Crichton at his best” - The Financial Times (2/07/16, Summer Book Special)


“If you like Michael Crichton at his best, then check out Daniel Godfrey. An exciting new talent." Starburst Magazine review is here!


“(A) rollicking debut …that should fill a void in the hearts of many a Michael Crichton reader. So irresistibly entertaining, it should be accompanied by a bottomless bucket of popcorn.” - Barnes and Noble review is here!


“[A] rollicking adventure in the well-researched but page-turning style of Michael Crichton” – The Sun


Full of mind-twisting time paradoxes for those of us who revel in such things, just the right amount of historical detail and plenty of plot to keep things moving, this sci-fi conspiracy thriller is a remarkably promising debut” - The Morning Star review is here!


“The historical detail is impressive, the mystery is interesting and there’s a chewy time-travel puzzle for fans of the genre” - SFX Magazine (3.5 / 5 stars)


“Godfrey’s nuanced affection for all things Roman shines” - Publishers Weekly review is here!


“New Pompeii … is no Jurassic Park imitator. Conspiracy, intrigue, the clash of ancient and modern eras: what more do you need?” - The Chronicle Herald (Canada) review is here!


“The book’s a belter!” - Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC Radio Brisbane)

“A  compelling  mystery  (that) keeps  us  guessing  at  its  solution  until  the  very  end.  A smart, well thought-out book” - Booklist

A clever, original and exciting idea … (that) feels like a movie script waiting to happen” - Gold Coast Bulletin (Australia)


* * *

“Part Science Fiction, Part Fantasy, part Thriller, this all adds up to one heck of a ride.” - Ebookwyrm Review is here!

“Daniel Godfrey's debut novel is literary superglue…I couldn't put it down till I'd finished it.” - The Bookbag review is here!

“I honestly don't know how to categorise this book. SF? Fantasy? Historical? It's probably all three but above all it's a rollicking good adventure.” - Blue Book Balloon review is here!

“New Pompeii succeeds as a sci-fi-inflected thriller on the strength of the author's earnest approach to his outlandish premise” - Shelf Awareness review is here!

“A really good, fun novel, with plenty of action-packed scenes” - Rinn Reads review is here!

“A rapid-paced beach read that entertains enormously” - SFFWorld review is here!

“New Pompeii has all of the elements that every Sci-Fi fan would want” - Gamers Sphere review is here!

“If you like sci-fi with time travel elements, Roman history and some good old action, then you better pick-up this book” - Retrenders review is here!

“I enjoyed New Pompeii.  It’s a nice, easy read, and … there are enough plot twists to keep you on your toes.” - The Soap Boxers review is here!

“Daniel Godfrey does an excellent job of transporting the reader to day-to-day life (in New Pompeii)” - Book Nudge review is here!

“Light and intriguing sci-fi at its best and most fluent” - Rising Shadow review is here!

“New Pompeii is part sci-fi, part historical thriller.  I’ve yet to read a novel that balances both genres so well.” - GeekMundo review is here!

“I was completely hooked” - Abi’s Book Reviews is here!

“A thriller of rare quality” - Fangirlnation review is here!

“New Pompeii is perfect for history nerds, sci-fi nerds...hell even fantasy nerds, I kinda think the book is a little of all three!” - Reality’s a Bore review is here!

“This is a treat for fans of well-thought out science fiction. There are twists and turns that are dizzying but it’s an enjoyable ride.” - Impedimenta review is here!

“A fascinating look at the power (and abuse) of time travel” - Fresh Fiction review is here!

“If you like Roman history, science fiction, and conspiracy theories, you’ll enjoy New Pompeii”  - NerdSpan review is here!

“Daniel Godfrey’s debut novel is truly a page-turner” - Manhattan Book Review is here!

“I would love to see more. 5/5” - Decaf Jess review is here!

“Mind blowing. The settings were so realistic, I could almost feel the sun beating down.” - Night Owl Reviews are here!

“Can’t wait for the sequel!” - The Read Spot (Delphi Public Library) Blog review is here!

An extract is available on the Barnes & Noble site here!

New Pompeii is a Financial Times “Books of 2016” pick!

New Pompeii was included in the Morning Star Books of 2016 Review

Some time in the near future, energy giant NovusPart develops technology with an unexpected side-effect: it can transport objects and people from deep in the past to the present day.

For post-grad historian Nick Houghton, the controversy surrounding the programme matters less than the opportunity the company offers him. NovusPart’s executives reveal their biggest secret: they have saved most of the people from Pompeii, minutes before the volcanic eruption.

But Nick soon realises that NovusPart are underestimating their captives. The stage is set for the ultimate clash of cultures in which time itself is a weapon…


* * *